Orange!

Another fruity flavor this week! Sorry to all the tough badass girls I was talking about at the end of the last post, but I think you’ll have to suffer through a few more “girly” drinks before I start posting things as hardcore as straight scotch! Anyways, I’ve been noticing recently that orange liqueurs have been gaining a lot of popularity recently, and I’m not sure why. I wonder if some cocktail or just the liqueur itself was featured in a popular movie recently, like how white russians became more popular after the Big Lebowski hit theaters. Hmm, I don’t know. But what I do know is that there are two main popular types of orange liqueur out there: Triple Sec and Curacao. They’re not technically the same thing, but they’re basically interchangeable when you’re mixing cocktails. The fun thing about Curacao, though, is that it comes in two bright colors – orange and blue! Blue Curacao is really fun to make cocktails with because of its unique color, so I think I might save those fun blue cocktails for next time. In the mean time, here are a few tasty ones you can make with Triple Sec or Orange Curacao!

Kamikaze
1 part Triple Sec
1 part Vodka
1 part Lime Juice
Mix in a shaker with ice, pour into a cocktail glass and garnish with a lime wedge.

Margarita
7 parts Tequila
4 parts Triple Sec
3 parts Lemon juice
Mix in a shaker with ice, then pour into a glass over ice with salt on the rim.

Cosmopolitan
8 parts Vodka Citron
6 parts Cranberry juice
3 parts Triple Sec
3 parts Lime juice
Mix in a shaker with ice, pour into a cocktail glass.

None of these cocktails feature the Triple Sec as their primary ingredient (well, in the Kamikaze it’s even with the others) but I couldn’t really think of too many that do that are any good. But as you can see here, orange liqueur is used in a lot of really famous drinks like the Margarita and Cosmopolitan! I bet you wouldn’t have guessed that, right? So, at least this post has been kind of interesting and informative, I hope! But next time will be fun with the Blue Curacao recipes, so look forward to that – I will!