Green!

No, no, there’s nothing called “Green Curacao.” I bet that’s what you thought this post was going to be about when you read the title, right? Well, maybe not. Anyways, I was thinking about how fun mixing (and drinking!) drinks with Blue Curacao is, and I got to thinking about other brightly colored liquors that are fun like that too. And I was running out of popular flavors of liqueur that I could think of, so maybe it’s time to move on anyways! So, other than Blue Curacao, the next obvious color that came to mind was green. And what liquor is known for being bright green? I’ve actually talked about it on the blog before, but it was a long time ago, so I forgive you if you don’t remember! It’s Midori!

Remember this? It’s that melon-flavored liqueur from Japan! I told you all how to make Kamikazes and Japanese Slippers with it, both Japan-themed drinks, but it’s used in plenty of other bright green cocktails too! For example…

Midori Sour
1 part Midori
1 part Lemon Juice
2 parts Sweet and Sour Mix
Mix in a shaker with ice, pour in a glass and garnish with an orange slice or a cherry.

Illusion
3 parts Midori
1 part Triple Sec
1 part Vodka
1 part Lemon Juice
3 parts Pineapple Juice
Mix in a shaker with ice and pour into a cocktail glass.

Midori Cosmopolitan
2 parts Midori
2 parts Lemon-flavored Vodka
2 parts Cranberry Juice
1 part Lemon Juice
Mix in a shaker with ice and pour into a cocktail glass. Garnish with raspberries.

The Midori Cosmopolitan has an especially vibrant green color, if you do it right. Midori is one of my favorite liquors to mix with, and there’s a lot you can do with it – this is just a small sample of how it can be used! Now, green was easy to think of, but I wonder what liquors I can talk about for various other colors… I guess you’ll find out next time!