Classic Tropical Drinks

I’ve thought and I’ve thought and I’m still having no luck coming up with a good theme for my posts. The more I think about it, the more I realize I’m running out of drinks to share with you, too! So I thought, when in doubt, I can always just resort to some classics. Of course, who knows how long these will last me… I need to think of something else soon! But in the mean time, here are some very well-known drinks. You might already know how to make one or two of them, but hopefully not all three, so that I can at least feel like I’m still teaching you something! There’s kind of a theme between them, they all have a reputation for being kind of tropical or being from tropical places. So that’s good that I at least thought of sort of a theme for this post! Anyways, here they are!

Bahama Mama
1/4 oz Coffee Liqueur
1/4 oz Bacardi 151 (or other high-proof rum)
1/2 oz Dark Rum
1/2 oz Coconut Liqueur
4 oz parts Pineapple Juice
Juice from 1/2 a lemon
Mix in a glass with ice and garnish with a strawberry or cherry.

Mojito
4 parts White Rum
3 parts Lime Juice
3 sprigs of mint
2 teaspoons sugar
Soda Water
Mix in a glass and top off with Soda Water. Garnish with a sprig of mint.

Mai Tai
6 parts White Rum
6 parts Dark Rum
3 parts Orange Curacao
3 parts Orgeat Syrup
2 parts Lime Juice
Shake all ingredients except dark rum together and strain into a glass. Pour dark rum on top. Garnish with a pineapple slice.

For that last one, Orgeat Syrup isn’t the most common ingredient, but you can get it at some grocery stores and liquor stores. I know Trader Joes carries it. Anyways, I’d love to post more recipes, but I’m starting to think I might have to conserve them if I want to make the blog last! So hopefully this will be enough for now, and I’ll have more next time… with a new theme, maybe? A girl can hope!