IBA “Golden” Drinks

Okay, for today’s post, I’m going to do what I did last time again: three IBA official cocktails linked together by a common theme. Well, one’s actually a variant on an IBA official cocktail, but close enough, right? And what’s today’s theme? They all have “golden” in the name!

Two of them get their name from a common ingredient, Galliano – an herbal-flavored liqueur known for its bright golden color. Now that I think of it, I’m disappointed that I didn’t think of it when I was doing those color-themed drink posts! Anyways, the third cocktail gets its name from another “golden” ingredient which is, well, a little strange. You’ll see what it is! First, the other two:

Golden Cadillac
1 part Galliano
1 part Creme de Cacao (white)
1 part Cream
Shake in a mixer with ice and strain into a cocktail glass.

Golden Dream
2 parts Galliano
2 parts Cointreau
2 parts Orange Juice
1 part Cream
Shake in a mixer with ice and strain into a cocktail glass.

Okay, now, last but not least, here’s the one with the weird ingredient that’s a variation of an IBA cocktail. The IBA cocktail is a Gin Fizz, but this is apparently a popular variant of that. I’ve only seen it ordered at the bar a couple of times in my life, but maybe it’s more popular in other areas. Here it is…

Golden Fizz
5 parts Soda Water
3 parts Gin
2 parts Lemon Juice
1 part Gomme Syrup
1 Egg Yolk
Mix and serve in a glass with ice.

Yep, the weird “golden” ingredient is nothing other than an egg yolk! There’s also a version called the “Silver Fizz” that uses the egg white instead. Personally I don’t think you could ever talk me into trying a drink with an egg yolk in it, but if you’ve got some adventurous girls, this could be a good challenge for them!
Also, about Gomme Syrup, same deal as the Orgeat Syrup from last time – you can get it at some grocery stores and many liquor stores. Same goes for most “syrup” ingredients, so if I talk about any more in the future, that will probably be where you can find them! Okay, that’s all for now, back to frantically trying to think of a theme for next time again! Haha!